Jannet Walsh

About phone call language lessons

In Family, Health, Minnesota, Minnesota Native Daughter, Religion, Travel on September 14, 2010 at 9:28 pm


My mother Margaret Walsh of Litchfield with Andrew the terrier.

By Jannet Walsh
Murdock, Minnesota

I was the child for years, but now I’m more like a parent.

I just visited my dear mother Margaret Walsh, of Litchfield, now residing at the Middle River Health Center, South Range, Wisconsin. It’s a big trip, about six hours drive from Murdock to South Range, located near Superior, Wisconsin.

Her friends will remember seeing her at The Church of St. Philip in Litchfield and walking her little white dog, similar to the one in the photo. Before my mother’s stroke in 2008, she was known as a marathon conversationalist in her circles, leaving others without words. Now she can’t really speak or walk and needs care 24 hours a day.

When I told my mother I was returning to Minnesota she couldn’t speak because of the stroke, but laughed with joy on the phone! Each day, almost daily, I call her on the phone like clock work as I set my alarm on my iPhone to call her. The nursing staff has told me she will go to pick up the phone thinking she is receiving a call about the same time I call each day. She has even picked up the phone before I have called and waited for my call, leaving the staff wondering how she could know I was calling!

So, how can a mother know her daughter could be calling? Well, that’s hard to say, but the bond of a daughter and mother is hard to break. One of phrases we work on the phone is maybe the most basic phrases we all need to hear. “I love you.” Really, there are no other words I need to hear from my mother that has lost her languages skills.

Native Minnesotan Jannet Walsh is a blogger, columnist, journalist, photojournalist, terrier owner, hula hooper and more! Contact her at jannetwalsh@gmail.com. View her other blog at http://jannetwalsh.blogspot.com/.
Read other Area Voices.

  1. I love you is very important for everyone.

Leave a Reply

