Jannet Walsh

Genealogy – Grandpa Mart’s WW I draft card

In Family, Genealogy, Minnesota, Minnesota Native Daughter, Murdock, rural, Willmar on February 10, 2011 at 5:47 pm

Read related genealogy blog posts. . .

By Jannet Walsh
Murdock, Minnesota

(Click on image to enlarge.)

I’m very thankful for my grandfather Martin J. Walsh Sr. of Murdock, Minnesota for filling out his World War I registration draft card asking for an exemption from being drafted in the war. I found the card on Ancestry.com.

My father, Martin J. Walsh Jr. might not have born and I certainly would not have a blog, let alone be alive. There were an estimated 37 million casualties in World War 1. (I have other family members that have military service, but that is for another blog posting.)

It was June 5, 1917 when my grandfather Martin J. Walsh Sr., about 30 years old.
A few facts from the draft card –
1. Natural born citizen
2. Traveling sales, listed as not employed
3. Supports a wife and child
4. Married
5. Requesting an exemption because of dependents
6. Tall, medium build, gray eyes, brown hair, not bald

Read more about my grandfather Martin J. Walsh Sr. in a story I wrote in 1987 that appeared in the West Central Tribune.

Native Minnesotan Jannet Walsh is a blogger, columnist, journalist, photojournalist, terrier owner, hula hooper and more! Contact her at jwalsh@wctrib.com Click here to view full biography. View her other blog at http://jannetwalsh.blogspot.com/.
Read other Area Voices.

Follow at wctrib.com
Follow on Facebook
Follow on Twitter

Links encouraged!

Leave a Reply

