Jannet Walsh

Genealogy – DNA testing?

In Blogging, Family, Genealogy on February 15, 2011 at 11:08 am

Read related genealogy blog posts. . .

By Jannet Walsh
Murdock, Minnesota

Have you tried the DNA testing to locate your relatives in your genealogy search?

Let me know if the testing worked. Did you find relatives from the “old county” or did you just toss your money away? Contact me at jwalsh@wctrib.com and let me know if I can blog about it.

Click to view tracing your Irish roots blog.

Native Minnesotan Jannet Walsh is a blogger, columnist, journalist, photojournalist, terrier owner, hula hooper and more! Contact her at jwalsh@wctrib.com Click here to view full biography. View her other blog at http://jannetwalsh.blogspot.com/.
Read other Area Voices.

Follow at wctrib.com
Follow on Facebook
Follow on Twitter

Links encouraged!

  1. I just found your blog by searching geneabloggers.com for Minnesota, and came across this post about DNA. While I’m not volunteering to be a subject, I tested with Family Tree DNA, and I’m very satisfied with the results. They have a forum with plenty of active members, and a specific topic called DNA Success Stories. Anyone can join the forum, whether you’ve tested with them or not, and you could probably find someone who’s willing to be interviewed. There’s also a more general purpose site called DNA Forums, which has one section for “newbies,” but overall tends to be more technical.

    Since you included the graphic from Ancestry.com’s own DNA testing service, I should briefly explain something. My primary family tree is hosted at Ancestry.com, but I decided to test with Family Tree DNA instead. There were a few reasons behind this: First, Family Tree DNA was the pioneer in the field, and they continue to roll out innovative, new products and services. Second, they have the biggest database among all the companies, which is important when trying to find matches. Finally, I was still able to manually enter my DNA test results at Ancestry.com, so I got the best of both worlds, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

